From the Blog

  • Ásgeir Airs New Music Video for "Was There Nothing"

    July 29, 2014   Ásgeir's tender and processed vocals hiss emotions with a raw aura that roots back to the patent of Justin Vernon's Bon Iver.

  • New Music Tuesday: The Jenny Lewis Effect

    July 29, 2014   This week sees music from some classic Ones To Watch favorites including Spoon and Jenny Lewis, with forthcoming releases from Chapel Hill’s Spider Bags and a new beach-pop record to turn your attention to.  Jenny Lewis - The Voyager  The Rilo Kiley and Postal Service frontwoman has spent a considerable amount of time making her new album; six years have passed since we last heard from her as a solo artist. In that time, she’s embarked on a reunion tour (with the Postal Service), struck up a musical project - Jenny and Johnny - with her boyfriend Jonathan Rice, and said goodbye to a parent. For a Gen X baby who came of age in the ’80s, experiencing such milestones in the last half decade create a considerable amount of things to talk about. Lewis explores all this in her wryly honest way, her musicianship holding hands with Buddy Holly, Neko Case, and The Shins: out of place in any decade, and that’s about one of the best things we’ve heard all year.  Spoon - They Want My Soul  Britt Daniel has taken a momentary break from Divine Fits to record a new  Spoon record, They Want My Soul, out on August 5. Like Lewis, the last we heard from Spoon was in 2010. On the heels of their weird new video for “Inside Out,” which premiered exactly a week ago, you can advance stream They Want My Soul on iTunes now.  Alvvays - Alvvays Beachy, lo-fi guitar pop that’s not a painstaking carbon copy of Best Coast? Toronto-based quintet Alvvays delivers this up in their debut self-titled record which you can stream on Spotify here. While the members were each involved in individual musical projects prior to forming Alvvays, including a Canadian pop-folk family act, the band found its new sound in the sleeper hits of Peter, Bjorn, and John. This Indie-folk-inspired talent is surely on the rise.  Spider Bags - Frozen Letter The noisiest upcoming release comes, not surprisingly, from Merge Records (Arcade Fire, Neutral Milk Hotel) artist Spider Bags with their debut release Frozen Letter. Touting the frenetic energy of a punk rock band beneath a fuzzy veil of harmless cobwebs, frontman Dan Magee, formerly of DC Snipers, unleashes garage party dance anthems with the unparalleled glee of a recently liberated delinquent. Hear their album via First Listen on NPR. 

  • Karen O Holds Her Breath And Your Attention in "Rapt"

    July 28, 2014   For all you miserable Yeah Yeah Yeahs fans out there, the band may be laying low but don't forget there's a bright side to that.

  • Ryan Hemsworth Samples Your iPhone in New Song, "God"

    July 28, 2014   Ones To Watch artist Ryan Hemsworth ingeniously molded his track to modernity with the inclusion of the ever-infamous Apple text message notification. The vibrant synths, colorful steady bass, and rising tempo combine to create an adventurous atmosphere that seems perfect for the soundtrack for the next sci-fi epic. The little iPhone notification dispersed throughout the track provides an ingenious remix to an already clever track. I'm not going to say this track is godly, but its pretty damn good. Check it out here:

  • The Week in OTW: Summer Dreaming

    July 25, 2014   On repeat

  • A Closer Look at Majid Jordan

    July 25, 2014   This week, Canadian duo Majid Jordan released their new EP A Place Like This, the followup to their 2013 debut afterhours. We think this warrants an update on the team.

  • Jessie Ware Shares It All

    July 24, 2014   UK R&B and pop artist Jessie Ware shared the second single "Share It All" from her forthcoming album Tough Love this morning. "Share It All" is a more relaxed and less acoustic track compared to her previous track, “Tough Love.” The percussion beats are elevated as equally as the soft light tone of the songstress, who pleads to her loved one to open up to her. Tough Love will be available for purchase starting August 5th and has contributions from various singers including Ed Sheeran, Miguel, Drake, and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys).

  • Weezer Debuts 'Back To The Shack'

    July 24, 2014   In light of the day of throwbacks, one of our fave #tbt bands is up to new stuff. 

  • The Lonely Wild's New Music Video is An Adventure

    July 23, 2014   The Lonely Wild took off in 2013 with the release of their debut album, The Sun as it Comes.

  • 'Drag & Drop' Duologue's New Single

    July 23, 2014   Here’s something exciting to mull over before fall arrives. Ones To Watch band Duologue revealed “Drag & Drop,” the first single off their upcoming album, Never Get Lost. Employing sumptuously down-tempo beats and a rhythmic bass refrain, the track - like many Duologue songs - grabs at you with a near Radiohead-like hypnotism. The band has been slowly working its way towards its second album, due out on September 9. For now, hear the track and grab a download above.